9/11/2014

New book: Midnight in Venice - plus a contest alert!

When we're not researching Renaissance Italy, we write contemporary fiction under the chic pen name Meadow Taylor, the latest being her romantic thriller, Midnight in Venice, now available from HarperCollins Canada.

Writing romantic thrillers gives us a chance to relive our favourite places, and, as with Meadow’s short story Christmas in Bruges, the opportunity to discover new ones. If ever you visit Bruges, Belgium, be sure to go to the Cafe Terrastje. Meadow, we mean Janice, (sometimes it’s hard to remember who we are!) ate every meal there (oh, the tortures of research), and it really does have the best lasagna in the world!

Best of all, we get to write an unapologetic, no-holds-barred, happily-ever-after ending. That said, don’t assume bliss comes effortlessly for Meadow’s characters. The trials, twists, and turns Meadow hurls in their path makes them earn every ounce of their happiness, while her readers are forced to stay up all night, terrified they won’t get the happy ending they so confidently expected. Yes, now that we think of it, Meadow has quite a sadistic streak. Nothing makes her happier than when readers tell her they spent a sleepless night because they couldn’t put her book down.

And now for the contest, in which you could win this beautiful Murano glass necklace with matching earrings.

To enter, email us at janiceandgina @ hotmail.com or meadowtaylor1 @ gmail.com, post to Meadow’s Facebook page, or tweet Meadow, and let her (and us) know you did one of the following two things:

1) Tell your friends about Midnight in Venice via email, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, or any other method.
or 2) Write a review of Midnight in Venice on Goodreads, Amazon, your blog, etc.

The deadline is Wednesday October 8, 2014, and the winner will be chosen at random.

Though not currently available in paperback or hardcover, Midnight in Venice is available worldwide in English on all ebook platforms:

Amazon Canada
Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon Australia
Kobo
Apple iTunes
Google Play (where it's a Top Pick under $10!)
Goodreads
Plus many more online retailers around the world!

“From the author of The Billionaire’s Secrets and Falling for Rain, Midnight in Venice is a captivating new contemporary tale of romance and suspense set in the magical city of Venice, Italy

Readers met and fell in love with Olivia Moretti in Meadow Taylor’s hugely popular holiday story Christmas in Venice, where Olivia is rescued by a gorgeous Italian cop, Alessandro Rossi, during an airport bomb scare. Now, as the new year begins, her joy at having landed her dream job in Venice’s thriving art world is surpassed only by the realization that she and Alessandro are falling in love—and her surprise that he turns out to be not just the son of a tycoon, but a gifted pianist and former racecar driver who is equally at home in the city’s bejewelled palazzos as patrolling its streets. Olivia can’t believe that her life now includes masked balls, exquisite music, romantic trips to Paris—and true love. But all this is put in jeopardy when a business trip to New York City finds her accused of a crime she didn’t commit—and not even Alessandro believes she’s innocent. Can her new love uncover the truth and keep Olivia’s Italian dream from becoming a nightmare? A thrilling, passion-filled story set among the dazzling palaces, canals, and piazzas of one of the world’s most beautiful cities, Midnight in Venice is perfect for fans of Danielle Steel, Nora Roberts, and lovers of contemporary romance everywhere.”

This contest has been publicized on Contest Heat as well as other sites.

4/14/2014

The Latest on The Wolves of St. Peter's

The Wolves of St. Peter's was longlisted for the Arthur Ellis Award Best Novel 2014!

Looking for a copy? HarperCollins Canada recently issued a new paperback edition - find it here. Also available as an ebook. Makes a great autumn read!

Roundup of reviews:

“This is the third novel by the Canadian team of Buonaguro and Kirk, and it’s the best so far." - Globe & Mail

"A thrilling tale of beauty and ugliness in Renaissance Italy." - Chatelaine

“A zesty mix of high-class brothels and high-level corruption make The Wolves of St. Peter’s a top-notch historical thriller." - Ross King

"A perfect read for any historical fiction lover." - Anokhi Magazine

“The Wolves of St. Peter’s is an engrossing historical murder mystery—atmospheric, quirky, and compelling." - Sandra Gulland

"By turns gritty and sumptuous, The Wolves of St. Peter’s will keep you rapt—and guessing—till the end.” - Oakland Ross

"This is an immensely satisfying read for fans of historical fiction or Renaissance Italy and the artists of its time that would translate delightfully into a stunning feature film." - Scully Love Promo

Recent guest blog post:

About our writing process on the blog of Lisa de Nikolits, author of The Witchdoctor's. Bones.